Birch Creek prides itself on its nationally-recognized faculty of performers and educators. 2017 faculty for all sessions is listed below and subject to change.


Percussion & Steel Band

View bios
Steel Band Director Liam Teague
Assistant Steel Band Director Yuko Asada
Composer in Residence Brian Nozny
Faculty Performers

Anthony Di Sanza, Vicki Peterson Jenks, Scott McConnell, Brian Nozny, Dane Richeson, Brad Stirtz, Rodrigo Villanueva, Taylor Ambrosio Wood, Mat Britain, Christine Augspurger



View bios
Conductor Brian Groner
Concertmaster Renée-Paule Gauthier
Violin Marcia Henry Liebenow, Betty Lewis,
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks
Viola Matthew Mantell
Cello Emily Mantell
String Bass Alan Steiner
Flute Shannon Finney
Clarinet Trevor O’Riordan
Oboe Ricardo Castañeda
Bassoon John Gaudette, Jim Westhoff
French Horn Dan O’Connell
Trumpet Matthew Lee
Trombone Tom Stark
Tuba Charles Schuchat
Percussion Robert Everson, Piero Guimaraes
Piano Jodie DeSalvo
Harp Faye Seeman


Session 1

View bios

Session 2

View bios
Lab Band Director Gil Wukitsch Steve Sveum
Studio Band Director Jim Stombres Nic Meyer
Ambassador Leader José Encarnación Marty Robinson
Alto Sax Scott Burns David Bixler
Tenor Sax Mike Lee Todd Williams
Trumpet Joey Tartell Tanya Darby
Trumpet Lennie Foy Clay Jenkins
Trombone Tom Garling Steve Horne
Trombone Audrey Morrison Clarence Hines
Piano Michael Stryker Adaron Jackson
Bass Jeff Campbell Jeff Campbell
Drums Bob Chmel Quincy Davis
Guitar Larry Brown Rick Haydon
Vocalist Katie Ernst Mardra Thomas